Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content An Official Website of the Commonwealth of Kentucky

Energy and Environment Cabinet

Division of Mine Permits

ATTENTION:  As of June 28, 2016, the Division of Mine Permits is relocating to the new state office building located at 300 Sower Boulevard, 2nd Floor, Frankfort KY 40601.  Please address all correspondence to the Division at our new address.


The goal of the Division of Mine Permits is to protect human health and the environment from adverse effects of coal mining and reclamation operations. This is accomplished by evaluating mining and reclamation plans and issuing permits to ensure that coal mining operations meet the performance standards established under the federal Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act (SMCRA) of 1977.